General Plan

The General Plan has been described as the constitution for a city's development. It is the foundation upon which all development decisions are based and sets priorities and goals for the future. As prescribed by Government Code (┬ž65302), the General Plan must include seven "elements" or subject categories: Land Use, Circulation, Housing, Conservation, Open Space, Noise, and Safety. It also may include other optional elements that address topics of interest or priority to a community. The City of Fremont General Plan includes the seven state-mandated elements as well as seven optional elements: Sustainability, Community Character, Economic Development, Parks and Recreation, Public Facilities, Community Plans, and Implementation.

General Plan

Please Note: Files contain pictures, maps and graphics.
File size is up to 10MB

The City Council adopted the General Plan Update on December 13, 2011. 

Title Contents
Vision Book
Chapter 1: Sustainability
Chapter 2: Land Use
Chapter 3: Mobility
Chapter 4:
Community Character
Chapter 5: Housing
Chapter 6:
Economic Development
Chapter 7: Conservation
Chapter 8: Parks and Recreation
Chapter 9: Public Facilities
Chapter 10: Safety
Chapter 11: Community Plans
Chapter 12: Implementation
  • Appendix A - Acknowledgements, Photo Credits, Table of Amendments, and Implementation Matrix
  • Appendix B - Citizen Initiatives
  • Appendix C - Local Hazard Mitigation Plan
  • Appendix D - Fremont Register Resources
Adopted on December 13, 2011
Environmental Review

See other Planning Maps

General Plan questions?